The intersection between explaining & turning away

It happens all the time in whether an event occurs or a topic is brought up in conversation. Personally, with these race and privilege questions, I feel pretty confidently in answering them but I’m tired. Not that tired of going to sleep to get some rest but the actual burned out tired.

The other side of me tells me that I should explain to correct people so they won’t make mistakes or to turn the other cheek consistently. This is an intersection I could go further into depth but the thing is is that it’s hard.

Picking and choosing your battles is key but it’s not a battle it’s just an event that would make you feel that it is one. Some people can tolerate more questioning or microaggressions than others, with me tolerating a lot, but we can’t progress in this country without having these conversations. Some things can be ignored and others need a little talk attached…

Leave a Reply

